Fishing Dog Lake

Dog Lake Washington State

February 2, 2014 indlocal1@fairpoint.net

0 Comment

Blogs

Dog Lake sits just off Highway 12 on the east side of White Pass. My wife and I decided to spend the night and do a little fishing. We had stopped in Packwood Washington at the tackle store to ask if they had an update on the fishing at Dog Lake, after talking to the person at the store he had recommended we try a fly behind a water bobber (the weather had warmed up and the Yellow Jackets had started to come out), so we purchased some flies called Yellow Jackets. We picked our camping spot for the night, there are only 8 camp sites at the lake, but we where lucky enough to get one. One thing about Dog Lake make sure you have lots of mosquito repellent and long sleeve shirts, in the evening the mosquitoes can get pretty annoying.

http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/washington/598/  IMG_0286

The next morning we prepared for a day of fishing, we had a small inflatable Sevlor raft so after getting it blown up, my wife and I climbed in and started to row around the lake pulling those yellow jacket flies behind a water bobber. It wasn’t long and we where catching a lot of small rainbow trout, The wife enjoys fishing when they are biting and this was the case today.

Photo of Clear Creek Falls

Dog Lake has a surprise for you if you are there at the right time of the day. On the south side of the lake the North Fork of Clear Creek goes under the bridge for Highway 12 and just a short ways down the creek is Clear Creek Falls Overlook , you need to check it out. http://www.waterfallsnorthwest.com/nws/falls.php?num=5360

I had rowed the raft about halfway between the bridge and the boat ramp and was looking toward the bridge when just above the bridge a fighter jet came into my view, these jets are flying up through the valleys and come over Rimrock Lake, Clear Lake, and Dog Lake they are flying so fast most of the time they have passed you and then you hear them. My wife didn’t have a clue what was about to happen, before I could say look, the jet had passed over us, it was so close I could see the pilots face shield in the cockpit. Then came the noise from the engines, it was so loud my wife was startled and must have jumped 2′ feet straight up and almost out of our raft, of course I couldn’t keep from laughing. For those who haven’t had this experience you must spend the day at Dog Lake just to see the jets fly by.

Dog Lake has been one lake I like to fish at least a couple of times each year. They stock the lake with rainbow trout, triploids ( http://www.az-tu.org/Triploid_rainbow_trout.pdf ), and also has brook trout. You can start catching fish as soon as the ice starts to melt. I stopped here with my granddaughter (I think she was about 5yrs old) one day and we fished from the shore, I helped her with her pole, put on some power bait ( http://www.berkley-fishing.com/products/soft-bait/powerbait ) and a piece of worm, the power bait helps float the worm so check to make sure it floats off the bottom and adjust the amount of power bait to get the worm to float, she had the first fish to shore before long. I would help her with getting them on the stringer and get her back to fishing, all the while my pole hadn’t had a bite, she had hooked four trout and landed them all by herself, I was putting her fourth fish on the stringer when she said grandpa you are getting a bite, I turned in time to watch her pick up my pole and set the hook. Five fish for her and none for grandpa, I told her she had her limit and it was time to go home. This was a great day of fishing at Dog Lake. Good Luck Fishing and hope you can see the Jets. Tight Lines! ( http://www.weatherforyou.com/reports/index.php?pands=dog+lake%2Cwashington )

http://www.muddycamper.com/washington/dog-lake-campground/

triploids brook dog lake

via fishing dog lake trout triploids brook trout power bait jets.

Leave a comment