Fishing Manashtash Lake For Brook Trout

Manastash Lake And the Cane Fishing Pole

Manastash Lake

Manastash Lake

I’ve fished Manastash Lake many times over the last several years. Located in Kittitas County, it is a favorite for fishing, hiking, and ORV enthusiasts. I have always been there to catch the Brook Trout. Making many trips in with a good friend of mine, when we first started fishing Manastash Lake we would carry in a small raft to fish out of and slowly troll a night crawler. This lake is one of the first high lakes that you can fish, we have walked into the lake through three feet of snow and only a portion of the lake wasn’t covered with ice. Manastash Lake is a challenge to get to during early spring. You can access the lake from the Ellensburg side going past Lost Lake or from the top of Manastash Ridge, this is how I have always walked into the lake.

http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/washington/585/

When I turned 50 years old my good friend decided to give me a gift for an old fisherman. He took this old aluminum cane and added a reel, took the foot off and inserted a rod with eyes and made the rod so it would slide in and out without falling out. I was impressed on how well it worked. My birthday is in April just when we would usually start talking about fishing Manastash Lake. I thought what could be a better place than Manastash to try it out. The earliest we have ever made it in to Manastash Lake was April 25th, don’t expect to do that very often, most of the time it is the end of May or the first part of June.

http://www.wta.org/go-hiking/trip-reports/trip_report.2009-06-08.3885916296

Birthday Gift

Birthday Gift

With tip pulled part way out

With tip pulled part way out

The morning we decided to go fish Manastash Lake I showed up with my cane pole. Some of the guys probably thought I was a little crazy. I remember them saying something to that nature. Well crazy or not there wasn’t anything wrong with the cane pole. It was the first pole to catch a limit of Brook Trout. It also was a great help walking in and out of the lake. My cane pole has not been used since and hangs on the wall with all my other poles and reels. Tight Lines

http://www.topoquest.com/map-detail.php?usgs_cell_id=27399

http://washington.hometownlocator.com/maps/feature-map,ftc,1,fid,1522672,n,manastash%20lake.cfm

brook trout manastash lake

via Fishing manashtash lake brook trout lost lake ellensburg kittitas.

Leave a comment